Ashford & Food Colour Dyeing

The 26th of January is Australia Day, and so in celebration…after an early morning run and jump off the wharf…I decided to have a go at using some of the Ashford powder dyes and food colourings.

image

I ended up dyeing two different colours…a pink variegated colour which was grey English liester/merino cross, kettle dyed with pink food coloring and a sprinkling of blue and red Ashford powder.
image
And a blue/purple/pink colour which is white English liester/merino cross dyed with just the red and blue Ashford powders.
image
It was very easy to do.

It was as simple as: wash the fleece, soak the fleece in vinegar and water, fill pot with warm/hot water and vinegar (just covering wool), place wool in pot, sprinkle in dye for variegated effect or pour in premixed for more even colour, simmer for 30-40 minutes, remove from heat and let the water cool naturally, after a couple of hours remove wool, rinse and dry.

I have plans to make some really fun batts using this wool on my drum carder tomorrow…I’m even thinking up fancy names for them 🙂 For the pink I’m thinking of adding some mohair and calling it “fairy princess” 🙂 Now I just need to buy some of that Angelina stuff.

I also have plans to try some more natural dyeing as well. I have a pot of something (I couldn’t identify the bush) in the backyard waiting to be boiled up tomorrow and possibly some plum skins too.

Have a good night.

4 thoughts on “Ashford & Food Colour Dyeing

  1. Pingback: Fairy Princess Yarn – Giveaway | A Yarn Good Time

Leave a Reply

