Blending Fiber and my Next Spinning/Knitting Project

After my successful alpaca hand-warmer project, I think i’m confident enough to try something a bit bigger…well actually, quite a lot bigger. My next project is the Bergen Jacket by Drops Design. I think I have quite a few days/weeks of carding and spinning ahead of me 🙂

image

In other news, I have borrowed a drum carder off my local spinning and weaving club (with the aim of buying a secondhand carder soon). I have previously tried hand-carding (with less than perfect results), so the drum carder is a big improvement.

image

I still prefer using the dog brush to flick open the locks when spinning the one type of fiber, but when blending two fibers together like alpaca and wool, the drum carder is working really well.

image

I’m impatient so my batt is a little thin … but the idea of separating the batt into smaller strips and then pre-drafting them seems to be working very well. And by also spinning the wool a little thicker i’m not having so much of a problem with lumps in the wool.

image

image

I couldn’t wait to get started knitting, so I started plying (the bobbins weren’t even a third full) and ended up with a 3ply wool that had a weird name like double knitted or something…but either way it worked out at 11 wraps per inch.

image

The pattern didn’t really specify what yarn to use for the cardigan…so I went ahead and knitted up the sampler…and it worked perfectly!

image

So, I know what my next few evenings will be consisting of…as soon as the weather clears up and I can dry some wool.

Happy Spinning
Krissie 🙂

4 thoughts on “Blending Fiber and my Next Spinning/Knitting Project

  1. Wow. I can see that following you will be very good for me. I’m very new at this and looking forward to getting a lot of hands on time this winter. Let’s hope I do…my house is full of goodies from raw to roving. I can’t wait to see your cardi.

Leave a Reply

