A Spinning Story: the wool has arrived

I arrived at work today to find two parcels waiting for me. I am so excited, my fleece arrived much earlier than I expected it to; 500 grams of unwashed Corriedale off-white fleece and 1.3kg of unwashed white alpaca fleece.

So, I believe the next step is to remove all the rubbish from the fleece…the burs, seeds, sticks, manure etc.

My to do list over the next few days…clean and wash lots of fleece. ๐Ÿ™‚

If anyone has any suggestions, i’d love to hear from you.

I have also discovered that there is a spinners and weavers group that meets in the local CWA rooms twice a week. So i’m planning on stopping by tomorrow. I’ll let you all know how it goes.

xxx

6 thoughts on “A Spinning Story: the wool has arrived

  1. Awesome! I love getting craft packages in the mail, so fun. All that cleaning sounds like a lot of work but I bet the finished product will be amazing.

  2. Urgh, washing fleece is a bit dull, but you get used to it the more you do, haha. I’ve done loads this past month. Just remember to use lots of hot water, some good soap like washing up liquid, some vinegar, and to leave it in the water to soak. Don’t mess with the fleece in the water or it will felt. A couple of rinses and it should be all clean. I spin my out in the washing machine and then leave it in a net bag outside to dry. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • You know what? I’m not exactly too sure! Someone told me to use it when I was having a bit of difficulty getting some fleece clean and it just works. I think it’s to counter act against the PH in the soap. I just get the super cheap stuff from the local store, which in my case is 20p a large bottle, so I end up buying loads, haha, just in case!

      • Oh, also, if you decide to dye your fleece, if you soak what you are going to dye in vinegar first (or even with the dye) it really makes the colours ‘stick’ to the wool, and and not come out. Super stuff!

Leave a Reply

