A Spinning Story: the spinning wheel or drop spindle…

The spark that started this whole spinning journey was a holiday that my aunt took last month to Tasmania. When she came home, she told me that she had ordered a bag of possum fur … now, it’s possible that this was a somewhat rash decision – considering that at this point neither one of us had a spinning wheel, or even the slightest idea how to spin the fibers into yarn. Nevertheless, the seed of an idea had taken root.

After researching spinning on the web and a few seriously late nights watching Youtube videos on the subject…I came to the conclusion that a proper spinning wheel was (at this point) out of my budget. So I looked into alternatives, namely the top whorl drop spindle.

Basically, something that looks like this…

photo courtsey of "Pschemp" from Wikipedia

photo courtsey of “Pschemp” from Wikipedia

It is entirely possible that my first attempt at making a drop spindle will simply involve a piece of dowel, a few CDs and a cup hook. But considering that my dad is a carpenter, I do have ambitious plans to make a really beautiful spindle out of wood. I will post instructions and photos of this process here in case you would like to make one as well.

4 thoughts on “A Spinning Story: the spinning wheel or drop spindle…

  1. I make some super simple ones using a piece of dowel, a toy wheel and a small hook, then paint them bright colours with a coat of varnish on top. Voila! A pretty spindle which is perfect to practise on. Good luck, and I’d love to see how you get on.

    • Great idea 🙂
      Now that I’ve got a comb, I will probably start making the spindle this week. I’m very excited. Thanks for your comment and suggestion
      xxx

Leave a Reply

